250-499-6075 info@keremeosmuseum.ca

Welcome to the new

South Similkameen Museum

Our Story

About Us

After 45 year at its previous location (the original BC Police station, RCMP jail and Village office, but that’s another story…) the South Similkameen Museum moved to larger premises in 2018.

The “new to us” building was the former Mason’s Lodge which originated in Hedley, BC and has since moved on to Summerland, BC. The building required numerous upgrades and renovations before opening to the public on July 1st, 2018. We are thankful to Canada/BC 150 Grant funding, BC Museums Association, Community Foundations, FortisBC, many private donors and dedicated volunteers for their support during our move and rebuilding phase.

The larger exhibition space in our newly renovated premises has enabled us to properly display the huge collection of local historical artifacts we have gathered over the years. And new technology enables visitors to search not only our photo archives but also the collections from other small museums all over British Columbia.

Our new premises will enable us to host visits from local elementary and high school classes as well as local resident groups. A large meeting room and kitchen facilities in the basement will also be utilized for local club meetings, social gatherings and fundraising. We thank our members and volunteers for their hard work and look forward to many more visitors every year.

Discover

New Articles

Pioneer Picnic

The Pioneer Picnic at the historic Gibson House on 11th Avenue on Aug. 20, 2011, was small but...

The Keremeos Hotel

The Keremeos Hotel, also called the Hotel Keremeos, was built by George Kirby c.1907. In the years...

The Children of Light

by D. Barrett In Keremeos, BC, Canada, in 1950, The Children of Light, a Christian sect, was...